Never Enough Words

Very Short Comments Because I Have a Short Attention Span

About This Blog . . .

Posted by neverenoughwords on November 9, 2008

I have other blogs, but they’re connected with my profession (I’m a professor in an English Department at a university–you know how we are–we’re some of those unAmerican liberals).  I keep those blogs apolitical and relatively neutral, if there is any such thing as being apolitical and neutral.  After all, the very books I read, the blogs I visit, the products I buy, the places I shop, and the way my taxes are spent have political implications.  But I don’t feel comfortable asking students to contribute to a blog that would probably alienate many of them.  Getting students to think in different ways is difficult enough.  So I couldn’t express the thrill of having watched Barack Obama being elected president.  I couldn’t post the YouTube of Wil.I.Am’s “Yes We Can Video.”  I couldn’t say that I’m going to watch the inauguration instead of go into mourning as I did when George W. was re-elected.  So there you have it.  I’ll write about books.  I’ll write about politics.  I’ll make observations.  I’ll take my Prozac.  I’ll live my life.  Yes I can.

 

P.S.  I’m not always going to demonstrate as much good will or good sense as one of my blogging friends does.   She writes “I can disagree with someone’s politics without being ugly to them.”  I admire her restraint.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be ugly at times.  But I’ll work on it and I won’t boo anyone.  And take more Prozac.

3 Responses to “About This Blog . . .”

  1. pacer521 said

    great! As a 13 year old political blogger I can say that we both have something in common. Great blog, and I’ll take a look at your posts.

    pacer521
    author of
    http://culturedecoded.wordpress.com

  2. neverenoughwords said

    Thanks for stopping by, Pacer. I visited your site. Provocative.

  3. Now we both know I only show restraint when I’m in a good mood. Pass the prozac.

Leave a comment